CRYPCryptoExplainer NO. ---
Mt. Gox repayment deadline moved to Oct 31, 2027 in fourth delay
Trustee Nobuaki Kobayashi's court-approved notice dated 16 October 2026 covers all three repayment tracks. It changes only the date, not the amounts, and does not say how many creditors remain unpaid.
Key takeaways
- The Mt. Gox rehabilitation trustee, Nobuaki Kobayashi, has moved the repayment deadline from 31 October 2026 to 31 October 2027 (Japan Standard Time), with the permission of the court.
- The change covers all three repayment tracks under the rehabilitation plan: the Base Repayment, the Early Lump-Sum Repayment and the Intermediate Repayment.
- The trustee says repayments are largely complete for creditors who finished the required procedures without problems; the extra year is for creditors who have not completed procedures or whose payments ran into issues.
- This is the fourth one-year extension in a row since September 2023. The notice does not disclose how many creditors are still unpaid or how much bitcoin (BTC) and bitcoin cash (BCH) remain.
- Wallets attributed to the estate held about 34,400 BTC as of 20 October 2026, according to Arkham Intelligence data cited by Cointelegraph.
The Mt. Gox repayment deadline is now 31 October 2027. A notice dated 16 October 2026 on the official mtgox.com site pushed the old 31 October 2026 deadline back by twelve months, the fourth one-year extension in a row since September 2023.
Many pages that rank for "Mt. Gox repayment deadline" still show the 2026 date. This explainer sets out what the trustee's notice actually says, how the deadline has moved since the exchange collapsed in 2014, what remains undisclosed, and what creditors should check now. For wider context on the coin itself, see our Bitcoin coverage.
Mt. Gox repayment deadline: what changed on 16 October 2026
The notice, titled "Notice Concerning Change of Repayments Deadline", is signed by Nobuaki Kobayashi, the attorney who serves as rehabilitation trustee for MtGox Co., Ltd. The English version is marked as a translation "for reference purposes only"; a Japanese original is posted alongside it.
Its core is one sentence: with the court's permission, the trustee "has changed the deadline for the Repayments from October 31, 2026 (Japan Standard Time) to October 31, 2027 (Japan Standard Time)." Japan Standard Time is nine hours ahead of UTC, so creditors outside Japan should read the date in Tokyo time.
The notice changes the date and nothing else. It does not alter repayment amounts, add new repayment categories, reopen claim filing or announce a new distribution schedule. Crypto outlets including Blockhead and Cointelegraph, which reported the notice on 20 October 2026, made the same point.
Which repayments the new deadline covers
The new deadline applies to the same three repayment tracks named in the 2023 and 2024 extension notices:
- Base Repayment
- Early Lump-Sum Repayment
- Intermediate Repayment
The trustee refers to these three, collectively, as the "Repayments". Which track applies to a given creditor depends on the choices that creditor registered in the claims system; the trustee's notices do not restate the rules for each track. The 2026 notice also says the work is largely complete "with the exception of certain types of repayments", without saying which types those are.
Why the trustee extended the deadline again
The trustee gives three reasons in the 2026 notice:
- Most straightforward cases are done. Repayments are described as largely complete for creditors who finished the required procedures and had no problems during the process.
- Many creditors have not finished the paperwork. The notice says "many rehabilitation creditors" have not been repaid because they have not completed the procedures needed to receive payment.
- Some payments ran into problems. A "considerable number" of creditors have not been paid for various reasons, such as issues that came up during the repayment process.
Because it is "desirable" to pay those creditors as far as reasonably practicable, the trustee asked for and received court permission for another year. The reasoning is almost identical to the 2025 notice, which Decrypt reported as citing creditors who "have not completed the necessary procedures."
Mt. Gox deadline history: four extensions since 2023
The repayment deadline has moved by exactly one year each autumn since the plan's original date. The table below is based on the change-of-deadline notices listed on the official mtgox.com site.
| Notice date | Old deadline (JST) | New deadline (JST) | Days' notice before old deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| 21 Sep 2023 | 31 Oct 2023 | 31 Oct 2024 | 40 |
| 10 Oct 2024 | 31 Oct 2024 | 31 Oct 2025 | 21 |
| 27 Oct 2025 | 31 Oct 2025 | 31 Oct 2026 | 4 |
| 16 Oct 2026 | 31 Oct 2026 | 31 Oct 2027 | 15 |
Source: MtGox Co., Ltd. rehabilitation trustee notices on mtgox.com. Day counts are calendar days calculated by Bullquill from the notice dates.
Some coverage counts the latest move as the sixth extension, because the trustee also pushed back earlier procedural deadlines in 2023, such as the deadline for choosing a repayment method and registering payee details. Counting only changes to the repayment deadline itself, 16 October 2026 is the fourth.
The 2023 notice explained the first delay in more detail. The trustee said creditors needed time to provide information, and the trustee needed time to check it and coordinate with banks, fund transfer providers and designated crypto exchanges before any money could move.
Mt. Gox timeline: from the 2014 collapse to the 2027 deadline
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| Feb 2014 | Mt. Gox halts bitcoin withdrawals (7 Feb), suspends trading (24 Feb) and files for court protection in Tokyo (28 Feb). The company says about 850,000 BTC are missing, later reduced by roughly 200,000 BTC found in an old wallet. |
| Apr 2014 | The company abandons rebuilding and the case moves toward bankruptcy liquidation. |
| Jun 2018 | The Tokyo District Court starts civil rehabilitation proceedings, which halts the bankruptcy. Under rehabilitation, creditors can be repaid partly in crypto rather than only in yen valued at 2014 prices. |
| Oct–Nov 2021 | Creditors approve the rehabilitation plan and the court confirms it (notice of 20 Oct 2021). The confirmation order becomes final and binding (notice of 16 Nov 2021). |
| Sep 2023 | First one-year extension of the repayment deadline, to 31 Oct 2024. |
| Jun–Jul 2024 | The trustee announces on 24 June 2024 that repayments in BTC and BCH through crypto exchanges will begin in early July 2024. |
| Mar 2025 | The trustee reports BTC and BCH repayments to more than 19,500 creditors to date. |
| Oct 2025 | Third extension, to 31 Oct 2026. |
| 16 Oct 2026 | Fourth extension, to 31 Oct 2027. |
Sources: mtgox.com notices (2021–2026); Wikipedia's Mt. Gox entry for 2014 events; Bitcoin Magazine for the 2018 switch to rehabilitation.
What the 2026 notice does not say
The trustee's notice is short. Several things creditors and market watchers most want to know are missing:
- How many creditors are still unpaid. The last official count was in March 2025, when the trustee said more than 19,500 creditors had been repaid in BTC and BCH. The trustee has not published a total number of eligible creditors with that update.
- How much BTC and BCH the estate still holds. The notice gives no balance. Blockhead reports that the rehabilitation plan covered roughly 142,000 BTC, about 143,000 BCH and around 69 billion yen in cash when figures were disclosed in 2023.
- When the next distributions will happen. No schedule is given for paying the remaining creditors.
- What happens after 31 October 2027. The notice does not say whether this will be the final extension.
What on-chain trackers show
Without an official balance, the best public estimate comes from blockchain analytics. Wallets attributed to Mt. Gox held about 34,400 BTC, worth about $2.8 billion, as of Tuesday 20 October 2026, according to Arkham Intelligence data cited by Cointelegraph. Blockhead put the figure at about 34,000 BTC in the same week.
Two caveats apply. Attribution of wallets to the estate is the tracker's own analysis, not a trustee disclosure. And, as Blockhead notes, the estate has moved coins between its own addresses several times; a transfer is not the same as a sale or a repayment.
What Mt. Gox creditors should check now
The steps below are drawn from the trustee's own notices. They are general information, not legal advice.
- Log in to the claims system. The trustee directs all questions to the MTGOX Online Rehabilitation Claim Filing System at claims.mtgox.com, using the inquiry form under the "FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)" button. Inquiries sent without logging in may be slower to answer, because the trustee may not be able to verify identity.
- Look for outstanding actions. The March 2025 notice says remaining crypto repayments depend on creditors correcting information and completing required actions on their registered accounts, the trustee confirming that the accounts are valid, and the designated exchange accepting the agency receipt agreement.
- Check your designated exchange account. The trustee pays crypto through designated exchanges. Blockhead reports that payments in July 2024 went through Bitbank, Kraken, Bitstamp and SBI VC Trade. An account that has been closed, frozen or not fully verified can hold up payment.
- Expect slow replies. The 2026 notice warns that the large number of inquiries means the trustee may not respond quickly.
- Watch for impersonation. The trustee issued warnings in 2024 and 2025 about fake emails and websites using the MTGOX name. Only trust the official mtgox.com and claims.mtgox.com domains, and never share private keys or seed phrases.
- Residents of Japan: check tax obligations. The trustee published a separate notice in July 2024 on tax filing and payment for creditors living in Japan.
Does the delay matter for the bitcoin market?
Mt. Gox wallet movements have drawn market attention before, especially around the first distributions in July 2024. Past large transfers did not always lead to sales, and much of the estate's original holding has already been distributed. Bullquill does not forecast price effects. Readers following short-term price drivers can compare this story with other factors in our analysis of why Bitcoin fell below $80,000 on 24 October and our guide to reading Bitcoin ETF inflows and outflows.
Mt. Gox is also not the only large, slow-moving pool of bitcoin tied to a legal process. A similar question of who ends up with the coins, and when, hangs over the 61,800 BTC that China is seeking to confiscate in the Qian Zhimin case in the UK.
What it means
For creditors who have already been paid, the extension changes nothing. For those still waiting, it buys another year to fix registration problems or failed transfers, and the trustee's wording suggests that is exactly the group the extra time is for. It is not a sign that the plan has failed or that amounts have changed.
The bigger issue is transparency. Twelve years after the collapse, the estate's remaining holdings can only be estimated from on-chain data, and the official count of repaid creditors is more than 18 months old. Until the trustee publishes an update, anyone citing a "Mt. Gox repayment deadline" should use 31 October 2027 (JST) and treat remaining-balance figures as third-party estimates. For more on Japan-linked market stories, see our Japan coverage.
Frequently asked questions
What is the new Mt. Gox repayment deadline?
October 31, 2027, Japan Standard Time. The rehabilitation trustee moved it from October 31, 2026 in a notice dated October 16, 2026, with the court's permission.
Why was the Mt. Gox repayment deadline extended again?
The trustee says repayments are largely complete for creditors who finished the required procedures without problems, but many creditors have not completed those procedures and a considerable number had issues during the repayment process. The extra year is meant to pay them where reasonably practicable.
How much bitcoin does Mt. Gox still hold?
The trustee has not disclosed a figure. Wallets attributed to the estate held about 34,400 BTC as of October 20, 2026, according to Arkham Intelligence data cited by Cointelegraph. That is a third-party estimate, not an official balance.
How many Mt. Gox creditors have been repaid?
The latest official figure is from March 27, 2025, when the trustee said more than 19,500 creditors had been repaid in bitcoin and bitcoin cash. The October 2026 notice gives no updated count.
Sources
- MtGox rehabilitation trustee: Notice Concerning Change of Repayments Deadline (16 Oct 2026, English reference translation)
- MtGox Co., Ltd.: official notices page
- MtGox rehabilitation trustee: Notice Concerning Change of Repayment Deadlines (21 Sep 2023)
- MtGox rehabilitation trustee: Notice regarding Commencement of Repayments in Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash (24 Jun 2024)
- MtGox rehabilitation trustee: Notice regarding Repayment in Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash (6) (27 Mar 2025)
- Cointelegraph: Mt. Gox extends creditor repayment deadline to 2027 (20 Oct 2026)
- Blockhead: Mt. Gox pushes its repayment deadline to October 2027 in fourth extension (20 Oct 2026)
- Decrypt: Mt. Gox pushes back bitcoin repayments by another year (27 Oct 2025)
- Bitcoin Magazine: Mt. Gox creditors to be reimbursed in bitcoin under civil rehabilitation
- Wikipedia: Mt. Gox
This article is for information only and is not investment advice.
Market context · Chart
TradingViewLOADING · TRADINGVIEW
Data delayed per exchange · not investment advice